Pilgrimage (Hajj)

Once in a lifetime, Hajj and ‘Umrah are decreed for those who can afford it. Pilgrimage commemorates Abraham’s exemplary submission to God (Appendix 9), and must be observed during the four Sacred Months—Zul-Hijjah, Muharram, Safar, & Rabi’ I (12th, 1st, 2nd, 3rd months) (2:197; 9:2, 36). ‘Umrah can be observed any time. Like all other duties in Islam, Hajj has been distorted. Most Muslims observe Hajj only during a few days in Zul-Hijjah, and they consider Rajab, Zul-Qi’dah, Zul-Hijjah, and Muharram (7th, 11th, 12th, 1st months) to be the Sacred Months. This is a distortion that is strongly condemned (9:37).


Articles by Submitters

  1. Step by Step Guide to Hajj and Umrah
  2. Important Information and Useful Tips for Hajj and Umrah
  3. Hajj and the Four Sacred Months
  4. Mecca—A Journey Beyond a Destination
  5. Disasters at Hajj — a consequence of ignoring the Quranic law
  6. Is Eid-ul-Adha a religious requirement?
  7. Overcrowding of Mecca during Hajj: God's laws for Hajj are disregarded